Why has no country ever dared to occupy Antarctica?

In the impression of many people, Antarctica is a dream like existence.


Antarctica is located at the southernmost tip of the earth, also known as the Seventh Continent. It is the last continent to reach by human beings and the only continent without indigenous people.

In August 1775, Captain James Cook of England (one of the greatest explorers in the world) was ordered to search for the “unknown southern continent” in the southern hemisphere in ancient Greek legend, which is said to be richer than America. Cook sailed all over the Southern Ocean. At that time, there was only one undiscovered continent on the earth – the Antarctic continent. However, cook missed it in his voyage to find the southern continent. Although cook once suspected that there might be a large area of land under the ice in the south pole, the British did not think it was necessary to go into the sea covered by the ice, and it was not worth the risk.


In the 18th century, European explorers discovered some islands around the Antarctic continent. In the early 19th century, the Antarctic continent was discovered. However, due to the cold climate in Antarctica, there are no permanent residents and no immigrants from other places, so there are no settlers and no government or state.


In the middle of the 20th century, Britain, France, Germany, Australia, New Zealand and other countries put forward their territorial claims on the Antarctic continent. After that, the United States, Chile, Argentina and other countries also put forward their territorial claims on the Antarctic continent. On December 1, 1959, representatives of Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Chile, France, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, South Africa, the United Kingdom, the United States and the Soviet Union signed the Antarctic Treaty in Washington. The treaty stipulates that Antarctica shall be used only for peaceful purposes, that the freedom of scientific investigation in Antarctica shall be guaranteed, that international cooperation in scientific investigation shall be promoted, that all activities of a military nature, nuclear explosions and disposal of radioactive materials in Antarctica shall be prohibited, that the claim of territorial ownership shall be frozen, and that international cooperation in science shall be promoted.

According to the Antarctic Treaty, Antarctica is for peaceful purposes only. It can be said that Antarctica does not belong to any country, it belongs to all mankind. Therefore, there is no “dare” or “dare” to say that here is a symbol of peaceful coexistence of all mankind!

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button